ATLANTA DOGWOOD - EASEBALL PARADE

Parade Time APRIL 12, 1966 Assembly Time 1:30 o'clock PM 1:00 o'clock PM

FRANK R. FLING, GRAND MARSHAL

DEPUTY GRAND MARSHALS

L. W. McPHERSON CHAS. C. MARSHALL J. L. MOSELEY CHAS. H. LINDSEY

J. ODUS FULLER

J. RICHARD KARRAKER Chairman of Parade

ARTHUR L. MONTGOMERY, Chrm. Atlanta-Fulton County Recreation Authority

EDGAR FORIO, Chairman Stadium Dedication Committee

STEVE J. VAN CLEAVE Parade Director MOZELLE CHRISTIAN
Co - Director

PARADE ORDER

BY THE AUTHORITY OF THE DOGWOOD FESTIVAL COMMITTEE AND THE ATLANTA STADIUM AUTHORITY COMMITTEE, A DOGWOOD-BASEBALL PARADE WILL BE HELD IN THE CITY OF ATLANTA ON APRIL 12, 1966

J. RICHARD KARRAKER Chairman

EDGAR J. FORIO
Chairman Stadium Dedication Committee

Steve J. Van Cleave Director Moselle Christian Co-Director

Frank Fling Grand Marshal

- L. W. McPherson Charles C. Marshall J. L. Moseley
 Charles H. Lindsey J. Odus Fuller
 Deputy Grand Marshals
- A. <u>FORMATION</u>: All units to be in position for parade no later than 1 o'clock P. M.
- B. STARTING TIME: The Parade will start at Peachtree Street and Baker Street at 1:30 P.M.
- C. ROUTE: From Peachtree and Baker Street, South on Peachtree Street to Whitehall Street to Trinity Avenue to Dispersal Area.
- D. DISPERSAL: All Units will disperse as directed by the Atlanta Police.
- E. MARCHING CADENCE: 120 steps to the minute.
- F. INTERVALS: 25 yards between Floats, Units and Divisions.
- G. All equipment too heavy to safely cross the Peachtree-Whitehall Street Viaduct will turn off on Decatur Street. Clear through the Atlanta Police Department.
- H. Deputy Grand Marshal J. L. Moseley will assist the Parade Marshals in Controlling the Parade in route.
- The throwing or passing out of candy, gum or other objects from the parade route is prohibited.
- J. Participation in the Parade in no way releases anyone from observing all the laws and regulations of the City of Atlanta.
- K. The Firing of Firecrackers and arms is prohibited without the specific approval of the Police Department.
- L. Failure to obey Police or Parade Officials may be cause for ejection from the Parade.
- M. MAXIMUM HEIGHT OF EQUIPMENT NOT TO EXCEED 13 FT. TO CLEAR OVERHEAD TRAFFIC LIGHTS.

LINE OF MARCH

FIRST DIVISION: Assembly Area: West side of Peachtree Street. Head of Division at Baker Street. All Units enter West Peachtree Street from West Peachtree Place and proceed South to the assembly point as directed by Parade Marshals. Marshals to be assigned at luncheon.

Atlanta Police Motorcycle Escort

Herbert Jenkins, Chief of Police, City of Atlanta

Grand Marshal, Frank R. Fling

Honorable Carl Sanders, Governor of Georgia

His Excellency the Governor of Pennsylvania

Honorable Ivan Allen, Jr., Mayor, City of Atlanta

Honorable Mayor of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Honorable Mayor of Decatur, Georgia

Honorable Richard B. Russell, United States Senator

Honorable Herman Talmadge, United States Senator

Congressman Charles Weltner

Congressman James Mackay

Other Georgia Congressmen who may want to participate in the parade

Honorable Archie Lindsey, Chairman, Board of Commissioners of Fulton County

Chairman of Board of County Commissioners of Allegheny County, Pennsylvania

Honorable Harold McCart, Vice Chairman, Board of Commissioners of Fulton County

Honorable James H. Aldredge, Fulton County Commissioner

Second Marine Division Color Guard

Second Marine Division Band

U. S. Naval Air Station

Float - 50 foot flat bed truck, Sky Anchors Aweigh

Color Guard, miniature model-T, convertible

National Guard Units

Georgia National Guard Units

The Continental Air Command Band

DeKalb County Commissioners - Honorable Brince Manning, Chairman, along with the other Commissioners

County Commissioners of the Metropolitan Area, including Cobb County, Clayton County and Gwinnett County

President, Board of Aldermen, Sam Massell

Members, Board of Aldermen

SECOND DIVISION: Assembly Area: West side of West Peachtree. Head of Division at West Peachtree Place. Marshals will be assigned at luncheon.

Arthur Montgomery, Chairman, Atlanta-Fulton County Recreation Authority

Edgar Forio, Chairman, Stadium Dedication Committee

Warren Giles, President, National League

Ford Frick, Former Commissioner of baseball

Lee McPhail, Executive Secretary

William Bartholomay, Chairman of the Board, Braves

Rankin Smith, President, Falcons

Tommy Reynolds, Executive Vice President, Braves

John J. McHale, General Manager, Braves

Dizzy Dean, Movie Actor

Russell High School Band and R.O.T.C. Drill Team Old Guard Battalion

Braves Officials

William C. Bartholomay, Chairman of the Board, Treasurer John J. McHale, President & General Manager Thomas A. Reynolds, Exec. Vice Pres. & Secretary James Fanning, Assistant General Manager Dick Cecil, Business Manager Jerry Sachs, Public Relations Director Don Davidson, Traveling Secretary - Bobby Bragan, Manager

Coaches

Billy Hitchcock Grover Resinger Ken Silvestri Jo Jo White Whitlow Wyatt

Players

Wade Blasingame Clay Carroll Tony Cloninger Arnold Earley Hank Fischer Ken Johnson Dick Kelley Denny Lemaster Phil Niekro Billy O'Dell Gene Oliver Joe Torre Sandy Alomar Felipe Alou Frank Bolling Mike De la Hoz Eddie Mathews Denis Menke Lee Thomas Woody Woodward Hank Aaron Rico Carty Gary Geiger Mack Jones Frank Thomas Harvey Stone - Trainer Dave Pursley - Equipment Manager

(Officials and Players will be assigned in their proper position throughout the parade).

Pittsburgh Officials

John Galbreath, President
Joe L. Brown, General Manager
Bob Rice, Traveling Secretary
Thomas P. Johnson, Vice President & Secretary
Harry Walker, Manager

Coaches

Hal Smith
John Pesky
Alex Grammas
Clyde King
Danny Whelan, Trainer

Players

Don Cardwell Roy Face Vernon Law Al McBean Pete Mikkelsen Don Schwall Tommie Sisk Bob Veale Wilbur Wood Jesse Gonder Jerry May Jim Pagliaroni Gene Alley Bob Bailey Donn Clendenon Bill Mazeroski Joe Pagan Andre Rodgers Matty Alou Roberto Clemente Jerry Lynch Manny Mota Dave Roberts Willie Stargell

(Officials and Players will be assigned in their proper position throughout the parade).

Pure Oil Company - float

Atlanta Gas Light Company

American Legion Post No. 1 - Color Guard & Drum Corps

The Coca-Cola Company - float

THIRD DIVISION: Assembly area on the west side of West Peachtree

Street. Head of column - Mills Street

Parade Marshals:

Kent Cigarettes

400 Club Train - Mr. Townsend

Georgia Chiropractic Association - Posture Queen
Miss Cherilyn Paris

Lakeshore Lancers Marching Band

4 Matched Mules & Dray - Playboy Bunnies

Atlanta Transit System, Inc.

Southwest High School Band

"Charlie the Chimp"

Actors & Writers Workshop Float - "Uncle Remus Tale"

Booker T. Washington High School Band

Booker T. Washington High School R.O.T.C. Unit

FOURTH DIVISION: Assembly area on the west side of West Peachtree

Street. Head of column - Pine Street.

Parade Marshals:

R. L. MATHIS DAIRY

High School Band

Tuskegee Institute Air Force R.O.T.C. & Flight Angels

Falstaff Brewing Company

Duggan Enterprises

Atlanta Fire Department - Chief Hildebrand

Northside High School Band & R.O.T.C. Drill Team

Fulton County Forestry Unit - Dogwood Float
"Smoky the Bear"
"Miss Keep Georgia Clean"

Stone Mountain Association - float

Decatur High School Band

Dogwood Festival Queen

FIFTH DIVISION: Assembly area on the west side of West Peachtree Street. Head of column - Baltimore Place

Parade Marshals:

YAARAB TEMPLE - SHRINE

SIXTH DIVISION: Assembly area on the west side of West Peachtree Street. Head of column - Linden Avenue

Parade Marshals:

Fulton County Sheriff's Posse

Anheuser-Busch, Inc. - Clydesdale Horses

Georgia Arabian Horses, Inc.

GRAND MARSHAL

Copies of Parade Order to be mailed to all units participating in the parade