205- Mango-04

EDWIN L. STERNE CHAIRMAN

GEORGE S. CRAFT

J. B. BLAYTON FRANK G. ETHERIDGE

JACK F. GLENN



824 HURT BUILDING ATLANTA, GEORGIA 30303 JACKSON 3-6074

May 2, 1969.

M. B. SATTERFIELD EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND SECRETARY

LESTER H. PERSELLS ASSOCIATE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

CARLTON GARRETT

GILBERT H. BOGGS

DIRECTOR OF HOUSING

HOWARD OPENSHAW DIRECTOR OF REDEVELOPMENT

> GEORGE R. SANDER TECHNICAL DIRECTOR

Honorable Ivan Allen, Jr. Mayor 101 City Hall Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Dear Mayor Allen:

Enclosed for your information is a list of the Project Area Committee for the Edgewood Neighborhood Development Program Area, formerly designated the East Atlanta NDP Area by resolution of the Board of Aldermen, dated December 2, 1968.

This Committee, elected by residents of the NDP Area, enthusiastically supports the Neighborhood Development Program and have pledged their cooperation to utilize this Program to improve the conditions of their area.

The Atlanta Housing Authority has leased a project office in the heart of the area at 198 Hutchinson Street. Mr. Curtis Parrish, the Project Manager, has established a good rapport with the Committee and has been invited to speak at many of the churches in the area. The Project Area Committee has approved Adley Associates as planning consultants, and they are presently preparing data on existing land use and structural conditions.

The Housing Authority, in an effort to make the program more responsive to the needs of the people, has pledged that the Project Area Committee will participate in the formation and execution of the plans for the area and that area residents will be kept fully informed.

The Project Area Committee has been particularly pleased to have been involved from the very beginning and to have a voice in decisions affecting their area.

We are pleased with the attitude of the Committee and the

progress to date in the Edgewood NDP Area.

Very truly yours,

Noward Openshaw P.C.

Howard Openshaw Director of Redevelopment

HO:pc

Enclosure

cc: Mr. Rodney M. Cook Mr. Charles Turner, Chairman PAC Mr. Curtis Parrish