Memorandum on Reorganization of EOA Board of Directors

The Mayor of Atlanta and the Commissioners of Fulton, Gwinnett, and Rockdale Counties, the Board of Directors of Economic Opportunity Atlanta, and the Office of Economic Opportunity have agreed to the following composition of the EOA Board in order to meet requirements of amendments to the Federal Economic Opportunity Act governing community action agencies:

- 1. Total number of seats is 39. (Former number was 33.)
- Number of seats for representatives of the poor is 14. (No change.)
 One representative is elected by the poor in each of the fourteen Neighborhood Service Areas into which Atlanta and Fulton, Gwinnett, and Rockdale Counties are divided.
- 3. Number of seats for chief elected officials or their representatives is 14. (Former number was 19.)

Representatives are selected by officials or public agencies as follows:

Atlanta Mayor and Board of Aldermen

4

Fulton County Commissioners of Roads and Revenues
Gwinnett County Commissioners of Roads and Revenues
Rockdale County Commissioner of Roads and Revenues
Atlanta Board of Education
Georgia Commissioner of Labor
Atlanta Regional Metropolitan Planning Commission
1
Atlanta Community Relations Commission
1

4. Number of seats for major private organizations or interest groups is 11. (Formerly, none was selected directly.)

One representative is selected by each of the following groups:

Atlanta Chamber of Commerce (Business) Atlanta Federal Executive Board (Community Support) Atlanta University Center Corporation (Education) National Alliance of Businessmen, Atlanta (Employment) Metropolitan Atlanta Council for Health (Health) Atlanta, Georgia Labor Council AFL-CIO (Labor) Community Council of the Atlanta Area (Planning) Christian Council of Metropolitan Atlanta (Religion) Community Chest of Metropolitan Atlanta (Social Service) (Selected through County Commissioners) (Gwinnett Services)

5. Representatives of the poor serve for terms to which elected, with new elections to be held in December, 1969, for terms beginning January 1, 1970. Public representatives and private group representatives are selected for terms beginning July 1, 1969, with reappointment or replacement in December, 1969, for one-year terms beginning January 1, 1970.

(Selected through County Commissioner)

(Rockdale Services)