## Memorandum on Reorganization of EOA Board

Modification of the selection process for representation on the Board of Directors of Economic Opportunity Atlanta, Inc. is required by 1967 amendments to the Economic Opportunity Act, to be effective by July 1, 1968.

The following composition of the Board would be consistent with the new requirements and the charter and by-laws of EOA:

1. Total number of seats will be 39. (Present number is 33.)

12000

- Number of seats for representatives of the poor will be 14. (No change.) One representative is elected by the poor in each of the fourteen Neighborhood Service Areas into which Atlanta and Fulton, Gwinnet, and Rockdale Counties are divided.
- 3. Number of seats for chief elected officials or their representatives will be 14. (Present number is 19.)

Representatives will be selected by elected officials or public agencies as follows:

Atlanta Mayor and Board of Aldermen	4
Fulton County Commissioners of Roads and Revenues	. 4
Gwinnett County Commissioners of Roads and Revenues	1
Rockdale County Commissioner of Roads and Revenues	1
Atlanta Board of Education	1
Georgia Commissioner of Labor	1
Atlanta Regional Metropolitan Planning Commission	1
Atlanta Community Relations Council	1

4. Number of seats for major private organizations or interest groups will be 11. (None now selected directly.)

One representative will be selected by each of the following groups:

(Business)	Atlanta Chamber of Commerce
(Community Services)	Atlanta Federal Executive Board
(Education)	Atlanta University Center Corporation
(Employment)	National Alliance of Businessmen, Atlanta
(Health)	Atlanta Health Planning Council
(Labor)	Atlanta Labor Council
(Planning)	Community Council of the Atlanta Area, Inc.
(Religion)	Christian Council of Metropolitan Atlanta, Inc.
(Social Service)	Metropolitan Atlanta Community Services, Inc.
(Gwinnett Services)	(Determined through County Commissioners)
(Rockdale Services)	(Determined through County Commissioner)

5. Representatives will be selected to serve July 1 through December 31, 1968, with reappointment or replacement as of January 1, 1969, for a full one-year term.