CITY OF ATLANTA



CITY HALL ATLANTA, GA. 30303

Tel. 522-4463 Area Code 404

IVAN ALLEN, JR., MAYOR

DAN E. SWEAT, JR., Chief Administrative Officer MRS. LINDA E. PRICE, Executive Secretary

November 18, 1969

Mr. Lewis E. Parker State Highway Urban Engineer State Highway Department of Georgia No. 2 Capitol Square Atlanta, Georgia 30334

SUBJECT: I-485-1(43) PE & I-485-1(46)R/W Fulton County

Dear Mr. Parker:

Thank you for your letter of October 30, 1969.

We are delighted to have the opportunity to cooperate with the State and Federal governments in providing park areas along I-485 in the City of Atlanta.

The Atlanta Parks Department is prepared to assume responsibility for the maintenance of the areas designated in your letter. Mr. Jack Delius, General Manager of Parks, has asked only that his landscape architects be allowed to review and possibly influence the landscaping plans for these properties. The Parks Department staff has suggested these areas be developed with tree planting schemes that would require very little maintenance.

We hope that you will go further in acquiring a greater number of partial takes of smaller size assuming the Bureau of Public Roads will approve an expansion of this program. The Parks Department recognizes the possible benefits to the neighborhoods involved and is willing and anxious to assume responsibility for the maintenance of additional smaller sections along I-485. Mr. Lewis E. Parker Page 2

Mr. Jack Delius will ask the Parks Committee to introduce a resolution to the Board of Aldermen on December 1, 1969, which would authorize a formal agreement from the City of Atlanta to undertake the maintenance of the designated areas as well as other possible areas.

Sincerely yours,

Ivan Allen, Jr. Mayor

IAJr:lrd

CC: Mr. Jack C. Delius Honorable Charlie Leftwich Honorable Buddy Fowlkes Honorable Everett Millican Honorable Rodney Cook Honorable Cecil Turner Honorable Richard Freeman Mr. Sidney J. Marcus Mr. Charles Robisch Mr. Dan Sweat Mr. Collier Gladin Mr. Emory Parrish Mr. Joe E. Brown Mr. Ed Garrard Mr. Herschel Bryant