Steering Committee The Urban Coalition

Co-Chairmen: Mr. Andrew Heiskell Mr. A. Philip Randolph

I. W. Abel President United Steelworkers

Mayor Ivan Allen, Jr. Atlanta

Roy Ash President Litton Industries

Mayor Joseph M. Barr Pittsburgh President, U.S. Conference of Mayors

Mayor Jerome P. Cavanagh Detroit

Frederick J. Close Chairman of the Board Aluminum Company of America

Mayor John F. Collins Boston

Mayor Richard J. Daley Chicago

Archbishop John F. Dearden President National Conference of Catholic Bishops

Dr. Arthur Flemming President National Council of Churches

Henry Ford II Chairman Ford Motor Company Joseph D. Keenan Secretary International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers

The Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King President Southern Christian Leadership Conference

Mayor John V. Lindsay New York Executive Committee, U.S. Conference of Mayors

George Meany President AFL-CIO

Mayor Arthur Naftalin Minneapolis Chairman, Community Relations Committee, U.S. Conference of Mayors

Gerald L. Phillippe Chairman of the Board General Electric Company

Walter Reuther President, Citizens Crusade Against Poverty President, United Auto Workers

David Rockefeller President Chase Manhattan Bank

James Rouse President, The Rouse Company President, Urban America Inc. Steering Committee The Urban Coalition

Page 2

Rabbi Jacob P. Rudin President Synagogue Council of America

Bayard Rustin Executive Director A. Philip Randolph Institute

Theodore Schlesinger President Allied Stores Corporation

Asa T. Spaulding President North Carolina Mutual Insurance Company

David Sullivan President Building Service Employees International Union Mayor James H. J. Tate Philadelphia President, National League of Cities

John Wheeler President, Southern Regional Council President, Mechanics and Farmers Bank

Roy Wilkins Chairman, Leadership Conference on Civil Rights Executive Director, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People

Whitney Young, Jr. Executive Director National Urban League