



 CITY COMMISSIONER J. STEVE KNIGHT, President COLUMBUS
MAYOR MALCOLM R. MACLEAN, First Vice President SAVANNAH
MAYOR JOHN L. CROMARTIE, Second Vice President GAINESVILLE
W. ELMER GEORGE, Executive Director

406 FULTON FEDERAL BUILDING / ATLANTA. GEORGIA 30303 / TELEPHONE 255-0424

June 27, 1966

ACTIVE PAST PRESIDENTS CITY COMMISSIONER JOHN E. YARBROUGH IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT ROME, GA. MAYOR RANDOLPH MEDLOCK STONE MOUNTAIN, GA. MAYOR W. B. WITHERS MOULTRIE, GA. CITY COMMISSIONER CARL E. PRUETT GRIFFIN, GA. MAYOR B. F. MERRITT, JR. MACON, GA.

FIRST DISTRICT PRESIDENT MAYOR JACK A. LEROY AILEY DIRECTOR MAYOR J. W. SNELL WRIGHTSVILLE

SECOND DISTRICT PRESIDENT MAYOR W. P. HENRY PELHAM DIRECTOR COUNCILMAN J. C. MINTER CAIRO

THIRD DISTRICT PRESIDENT RICHARD B, RAY PERRY DIRECTOR MAYOR O. E. WHITE PINE MOUNTAIN

FOURTH DISTRICT PRESIDENT COUNCILMAN LINTON BROOME DORAVILLE DIRECTOR COUNCILMAN CLYDE J. HICKS CONYERS

FIFTH DISTRICT PRESIDENT MAYOR AUBREY E. GREENWAY ROSWELL DIRECTOR ALDERMAN E. GREGORY GRIGGS ATLANTA

SIXTH DISTRICT PRESIDENT MAYOR J. GARDNER NEWMAN LAGRANGE DIRECTOR MAYOR HERBERT H. JONES MCDONOUGH

SEVENTH DISTRICT PRESIDENT MAYOR J. C. WOODS TRION DIRECTOR MAYOR RALPH R. CLARK, JR. RINGGOLD

EIGHTH DISTRICT PRESIDENT MAYOR ELTON D. BROOKS DOUGLAS DIRECTOR MAYOR JAMES T. WINDSOR, JR. MCRAE

NINTH DISTRICT PRESIDENT MAYOR DUARD B. WHITLOW CARNESVILLE

DIRECTOR MAYOR MRS. JESSIE L. GARNER DAHLONEGA

TENTH DISTRICT PRESIDENT MAYOR JULIUS F. BISHOP ATHENS DIRECTOR GEORGE A. SANCKEN, JR. AUGUSTA Honorable Ivan Allen, Jr. Mayor of Atlanta City Hall Atlanta, Georgia

Dear Mayor Allen:

Since you have more than casual interest in rapid transit, I thought you would like to have copy of the minutes of the meeting of the Georgia Highway Users Conference recently held in Atlanta.

We are a little bit unusual in that the Georgia Municipal Association is possibly the only state municipal group belonging to the state or national Highway Users Conference. The Association of County Commissioners used to dominate this group, however, we have as much influence with the membership as the county folks do.

Please let us know whenever we may be of service.

Yours very truly,

2NO

W. Elmer George Executive Director

WEG/rs

enclosure

cc: GMA Board of Directors

COUNCILMAN GEORGE H. BULLOCK ATHENS DIRECTORS STATE AT LARGE MAYOR WILLIAM JACK HAMILTON DECATUR MAYOR JOHN C. EDENFIELD THOMASTON ALDERMAN J. J. SHOOB SAVANNAH ALDERMAN CECIL TURNER

ATLANTA MAYOR LEE E. CARTER HARTWELL CITY MANAGER JOHN H. MARKLAND PRESIDENT, CITY MANAGERS' SECTION DECATUR

ADMIN ASSIST. R. TRAVIS HIGGINBOTHAM PRESIDENT. CITY CLERKS' SECTION ALBANY

CITY ATTORNEY WILLIAM E. SMITH PRESIDENT, CITY ATTORNEYS' SECTION AMERICUS