

Telephone: (404) 688-8778

## National Urban League, Inc.

Southern Regional Office

Clarence D. Coleman, Director

136 Marietta Street, N. W. Atlanta, Georgia 30303

August 11, 1969

The Honorable Ivan Allen, Jr., Mayor City of Atlanta 68 Mitchell Street, S. W. Atlanta, Georgia 30303

8/22

Dear Mayor Allen:

We, the members of a special committee of the Executive Board of the Model Cities Program, in an attempt to satisfactorily resolve the Model Neighborhood, Incorporated contract, wish to make the following report:

The committee met on Tuesday, August 11, 1969, immediately following the meeting of the Executive Board. We reviewed the correspondence between Model Neighborhood, Incorporated and your office. We concluded that two areas of concern in regard to the proposed contract are:

- 1. Adequate staffing, and
- 2. A Board of Directors of Model Neighborhood Incorporated that is fully capable of executing the contract success-

We believe, a letter to you dated August 5, 1969, from Mr. Joe Stalling, Chairman of the Board of Model Neighborhood, Incorporated, proposes a staffing pattern which can assure the satisfactory administration of the contract.

In regard to strengthening the Board of Directors of Model Neighborhood, Incorporated, your special committee met with that Board in session on Tuesday afternoon, August 11, 1969. During this meeting, the following persons were approved as additional Board Members pending acceptance: Mr. Herman Russell, Mr. James Johnson, Mr. Ira Jackson, Rev. D. D. Dunbar and Mr. Samuel Mills. Assignments were made to contact these persons to secure their agreement to serve. I have requested the Chairman of the Board of Model Cities, Incorporated to furnish the special committee the reconstituted list of members of the Board of Directors as soon as it is feasible.

On the basis of these developments, the special committee is requesting that the Executive Board of Model Cities, Incorporated be reconvened on

President JAMES A. LINEN Senior Vice-President Assistant Treasurer RAMON S. SCRUGGS LESLIE N. SHAW

Vice-Presidents JOHN H. JOHNSON LOUIS E. MARTIN MARTIN E. SEGAL

Secretary ERSA H. POSTON Treasurer IVAN C. McLEOD

Executive Director WHITNEY M. YOUNG, JR. Chester Burger

Board of Trustees Morris B. Abram Mrs. Max Ascoli William M. Batten Vivian J. Beamon Mrs. Haley Bell Edgar M. Bronfman Barbara Burton Kenneth W. Clement Daniel A. Collins Milton K. Cummings

Wendell G. Freeland A. G. Gaston, Sr. John A. Gronouski Charles Hamilton Paul Jennings Martin D. Jenkins Talmadge Kenly Mrs. Arthur B. Krim Robert Lazarus, Jr. Inabel B. Lindsay Henry A. Loeb Stanley Marcus

Mrs. O. Clay Maxwell, Sr. Floyd J. McCree Donald H. McGannon Ivan C. McLeod Mrs. Leo M. Mervis G. William Miller James F. Oates, Jr. Frederick O'Neal Henry G. Parks, Jr. Bishop Harold R. Perry, S.V.D.

Samuel D. Proctor Francis S. Quillan Henry J. Richardson, Jr. Dwight R. Zook Leslie N. Shaw Ashby G. Smith, Sr. David Sullivan Mrs. Arthur Ochs Sulzberger William J. Trent, jr. Edward M. Tuft Katie E. Whickham

Leonard Woodcock

Clayton R. Yates Mrs. Bruce Zenkel

Honorary Trustees WILLIAM H. BALDWIN ROBERT W. DOWLING LLOYD K. GARRISON THEODORE W. KHEEL LINDSLEY F. KIMBALL HENRY STEEGER

Friday, August 22nd at 10:00 A. M., for the purpose of receiving the committee's report. If special information is required prior to this meeting, please feel free to call me, Dr. Smith or Mr. Mitchell.

Very cordially yours, Coleman

CLARENCE D. COLEMAN, CHAIRMAN

C. Miles Smith, M. D.

Commissioner Walter Mitchell

cc: C. Miles Smith, M. D.

Commissioner Walter Mitchell

Mr. J. C. Johnson

CDC:mf