EMILY AND ERNEST WOODRUFF FOUNDATION

SUITE 210, PEACHTREE CENTER BUILDING
230 PEACHTREE STREET, N.W.
ATLANTA GEORGIA 30303

BOISFEUILLET JONES
PRESIDENT

Mayor Ivan Allen, Jr. City Hall Atlanta, Georgia

Dear Mayor Allen:

ATLANTA. GEORGIA 30303

Della July 3, 1969

Della July 3, 1969

We are now proceeding with reorganization of the E.O.A. Board of Directors in accordance with the attached memorandum which was cleared with the Fulton County Commissioners and Mayor of Atlanta about a year ago.

Originally, the Fulton County Commissioners appointed seven board members, the Mayor of Atlanta appointed seven, and the County Commissioners and Mayor together appointed jointly a fifteenth member to serve as Chairman. Later, under requirements of OEO, twelve elected representatives of the poor were added to the Board from respective neighborhood service center areas in Atlanta and Fulton County. Also later, Commissioners of Gwinnett and Rockdale Counties each appointed two members and a third from each county was elected by the poor.

Under the required reorganization, Fulton County and Atlanta will each appoint four members. Of the seven members who have served as appointees of Fulton County, Mrs. Lucy Aiken, Mr. Harold Benson, Mr. Jessie Hill, and Mr. John Greer will continue to serve unless Fulton County wishes to replace them now. As to the other three, Mr. Carl Plunkett and Dr. Paul West wish to retire from the Board now and Mr. Jessie Grantham will be replaced by a direct nomination from the Atlanta, Georgia Labor Council AFL-CIO.

The Chairman is now elected by the Board, which position I hold. Since I was an appointee jointly of the City and County and since there is no longer provision for a joint appointment, the Mayor has asked that I continue on the Board as one of the four appointees of the City along with Rev. Joseph L. Griggs, Mr. A.H. Sterne, and Rev. M.L. King.

As to the other four City appointees, Mr. William L. Calloway will probably be continued on as a nominee of the Community Council of the Atlanta Area, Inc., Dr. John Letson will retire from the Board in recognition of a nominee selected by the Board of Education, Mr. W.H. Montague is deceased, and Mrs. Ann Woodward will probably be nominated by the Board of Education as its representative.

We believe that this plan continues on the Board the Fulton County and City of Atlanta appointees who are willing to continue, which will provide necessary stability.

May I say that it has been a very great pleasure to work with all of your appointees, who have contributed very generously of their time and talents to our local anti-poverty efforts. The support of the Fulton County Commissioners and the Mayor and Aldermen of Atlanta and the wisdom of your choices for members of the Board have had considerable impact on development of the local program into what has been recognized nationally as one of the best. We hope to merit your continued interest and help.

Sincerely yours,

Boisfeyillet Jone

Chairman

EOA Board of Directors

cc: Mr. Walter M. Mitchell
Chairman
Fulton County Commissioners of Roads
and Revenues